Site Map
Eye Anatomy CE - Visual System

Segments of the Eye

The eye can be viewed as having two principal anatomical segments: the anterior segment and the posterior segment. Just behind the lens is the dividing line between the anterior and posterior segments.

Flash is required to view this object.
Roll your mouse over each term above to highlight its place on the illustration.

The anterior segment consists of the cornea, iris, lens, ciliary body, and the anterior portion of the sclera. It also includes the anterior chamber, which is bounded anteriorly by the cornea and posteriorly by the iris and the pupil.

The posterior chamber is bounded anteriorly by the iris and posteriorly by the ciliary body and the lens. Both anterior and posterior chambers are filled with aqueous humor.

The posterior segment is bounded anteriorly by the lens and extends to the back of the eye. It is much larger than the anterior segment and includes the eye's third major cavity, the vitreous body, which is filled with vitreous. The retina and optic disc are also included in the posterior segment.

Flash is required to view this object.